Pop Up Camper Redo- Counter tops Step 16

I had to make a decision about the countertops. They were in good shape but didn’t really blend in with the new color theme and needed a pop of color. Since we love to travel and I had a box full of maps from our trips I thought it would be the perfect touch I was looking for. Also it was free and as we looked at the maps it would bring back memories of our past trips. I knew I wanted one side to be local maps and the longer countertop to include the whole USA  map including Hawaii and Alaska. The quotes and edges were used along the ledges of the counters to give it a finished look.  Mod Podge was the best adhesive to use. It was easy to apply with a paint brush and didn’t have a strong scent.  I liberally applied the Mod Podge on the countertop and applied torn or cut pieces of the maps. Then I applied it liberally on top of the maps. I let it dry for 24 hours and touched up any area that needed sealing. After the second drying period I sprayed it with a Mod Podge spray sealer. The sealer had a very strong scent and you need to make sure you have ventilation when you use it. After 24 hours it was sealed and protected. I love the unique results and it matches our personality perfectly! Do you have a use for your old maps?

2 thoughts on “Pop Up Camper Redo- Counter tops Step 16

Leave a comment