Peppermint, Lavender and Lunch with Elvis!- Homemade Air Fresheners

Owl shaped air fresheners Aren't they cute?

Owl shaped air fresheners Aren’t they cute?

First don’t get discouraged or think you can’t make these because you either don’t sew or don’t have a sewing machine. These can either be machine sewn, hand sewn or put together with a hot glue gun!

It has been our tradition to make “homemade gifts” every year. It is always a challenge to make the guys something that they will use and understand. It ending up being something I could modify and make for the girls too! Who doesn’t need air fresheners? Especially those made mostly with essential oils and personalized to fit your personality, one of  kind and made with love. This was so fun and easy to make. For inspiration I went and look at all the felt squares at the craft aisle for inspiration. Of course these prints stood out to me for several reasons. I have Camo- Military type guys, the chevron pattern looked masculine to me and the others would fit the females taste. I also had to find or make patterns for them. I had horse lovers, owl lovers, teenage drivers and novelty lovers. I matched the colors with the scents.  I also used thin ribbon and jute to make the hangers. Some were more organic and some were more feminine or matched the scent like: purple for lavender etc.

I printed out the patterns and either enlarged or shrunk them to fit my needs. Cutting them out on the felt was easy and I could get several out of each piece,that way if I needed I could give a person several different kinds.

Next came the decisions for scents: I didn’t want anything overpowering but I wanted it to last. This was trail and error for me. I used essential oils whenever possible. Peppermint– refreshing and perks you up. It is also know to help with headaches and gives your brain a kick start. Lavender– calming effect and smells great too. Lemon, Citrus– fresh and organic with lots of memories. For the men the choice was a bit harder. I chose fresh scented coffee beans from a local store that carries different variety of flavors/scents. I chose cinnamon vanilla, vanilla and Lunch with Elvis ( it had a peanut butter banana scent) for fun. I also bought pre scented ones and  inserted them. Those scents were Ice Storm & Driven.

I like to precut all my shapes and ribbons/jute. Also pre loading my bobbins with the correct thread colors in advance is helpful.  I sewed them on 3 sides and left the top opening to insert the scent and hanger then I sewed them shut. I felt the owls needed a bit of embellishment so I added layers for the eyes with leftover scraps of felt. I just eyeballed it and cut it out and applied hot glue to adhere it.  The last 2 steps were packaging so the scent would keep till used and labeling it so they would know which scent it was. I decided with using zip top jewelry bags and printed labels. You can add anything else you like to the packaging.  Also you could add a bottle of the essential oil so they can “freshen” it up when needed. I was putting them in with another gift so this was perfect for me.  They are great for the closet, man cave, backpack,campers/rv, pantry, auto, work cubicle and anywhere you need a refreshing scent. Hope this inspires your creativity! Which scent and shape do you like?

Supplies: felt squares 2 for each project, essential oil scent of your choice, jute or ribbon for hangers, sewing machine with thread colors to match or hot glue gun with sticks, make up round applicators, pre scented air fresheners to insert if desired, labels to print scents, zip top jewelry bags to store.

 

Leave a comment